Shure SM58
+
Shure SM58
  • Augmenter ou diminuer la taille du texte
  • Imprimer
  • Rss

Tous les avis sur Shure SM58

  • J'aime
  • Tweet
Comparer les prix
contenu en anglais
nickname00928/08/2011

L'avis de nickname009 (contenu en anglais)

Shure SM58
Polar Pattern
Unidirectional (cardioid), rotationally symmetrical about microphone axis, uniform with frequency

Sensitivity (at 1,000 Hz Open Circuit Voltage)
-54.5 dBV/Pa (1.85 mV)
1 Pa = 94 dB SPL

Impedance
Rated impedance is 150 ohms (300 ohms actual) for connection to microphone inputs rated low impedance

Polarity
Positive pressure on diaphragm produces positive voltage on pin 2 with respect to pin 3

OVERALL OPINION

The 58 is sort of like the 57 with a different front as most people have argued. They both seem to have the same type of sound, that is with enhanced presence and upper midrange and not much low end. These are good for vocals and increases the presence through the mix for most people. I've used the 58 like a 57 for experiments and have found that it doesn't quite suit the job as a 57 would and is definitely geared more for straight forward vocals.

Compared to the 57 there are slight differences, the 57 actually seems to have a bit more low end overall while the 58 is a bit cleaner and clearer in general. The 58 has become the worldwide industry standard microphone that you'll see on every stage from small to stadium-sized. It's a decent sounding mic and relatively well priced. There have been many variations made of this microphone with slight EQ tweaks and what not but in my opinion for a dynamic vocal mic it really doesn't take much in terms of a mic to get some good sounds if you start with the SM58.

For live use, I'd say these are the SM58 vocal mics and SM57 mics are the ones to be looking at, for recording purposes they are decent but if you can spend a bit on decent condenser mics you may be better off. I've personally stopped recording with dynamic mics for most situations (minus drums) but for live it's almost absolutely necessary as most stages aren't totally capable of handling condenser mics in a good manner.

contenu en anglais
polishdog9026/08/2011

L'avis de polishdog90 (contenu en anglais)"Live Vocals?"

Shure SM58
Specification Detail
Microphone Type Dynamic
Polar Pattern Cardioid
Frequency Response 50Hz-15kHz
Impedance 150 ohms
Length 6.38"
Width 2"
Depth 2"
Weight .66 lbs.

This mic is the "live vocal" microphone. Go to any bar/venue and check out what people are singing through and chances are it will be a sm58. That being said, it can be applied to many other instruments. Its essentially the same mic as the sm57 but with a pop filter. This is so that you can get up close and yell intro the microphone without creating to many painful pop noises. It also means that this mic can be used on almost any source and sound pretty good. Some engineers claim that you can mic anything with a sm57 so the same is true with a sm58. It has a slightly lower presence peak in the 8-11 kh range due to the pop filter but that is hardly noticeable to the common ear.

OVERALL OPINION

I really like this mic. It's prefect for live sound on most instruments, especially vocals because of the pop filter. I generally don't use it on most studio recordings. I have access to a bunch of sm57s so I generally use those instead but you could definitely use this on guitar, drums, percussion, or anything really. It's really nice on loud sound sources. It's a bit of a darker mic but I think that adds some interesting character to certain instruments (guitar, snare drum, etc). For the price ($100) you can't really beat this mic (except with maybe an sm57). I would definitely buy another if I lost mine. It's great for live vocals but it will sound good on most things.
contenu en anglais
27/06/2011

L'avis de Anonyme (contenu en anglais)"You can never go wrong. But you can certainly go more right."

Shure SM58
Ahhh. The legendary Shure SM58. Venerated by anybody to ever take any interest in microphones ever. If you have ever sung on stage, it has probably been into a Shure SM58.

The reason for this is simple: it just works. The Shure SM58 has a very solid reputation of being able to sound good on almost any source imaginable, take the place of a hockey puck for five minutes, (I'm serious. Look up the video. People have taken slap shots at the Shure SM58 while it was plugged in, and use it afterwards) and still keep chugging for years. No matter how bad it may end up looking, it will continue to sound good for years and years and years to come.

This isn't to say that the Shure SM58 is the end all be all of all microphones ever. There have been several much more specialized and technologically advanced microphones that have been invented and relied upon ever since the first Shure SM58's rolled off the production line.

The Sennheiser 835's, the EV N/D series, the Heil live microphones. These microphones in my opinion, at least on my voice (high baritone, relatively rich in comparison to most pop and rock singers), are far superior to the midranged focused, honky microphone in the Shure SM58.

However, I will never gripe and moan about having to ever sing into one. Anyone who would ever doing that would be setting him or herself up for a lot of disappointment in life. The reason that these continue to roll off the production line despite Shure's revision and "successor" in the Shure Beta 58 is because of this one simple fact:

Shure just got it right that time.

OVERALL OPINION

If you've never owned a microphone before, there is no reason for anyone to ever pass up the SM58. This is because you will never be short of advice or opinions on how to squeeze every ounce of quality out of it.

So for $100 new, you are setting yourself up for a lot of joy in the Shure SM58. I fully and utterly recommend it, no matter what you're doing. You may not always be getting the cream of the crop in every application, but it will never actually fail you. Ever.
contenu en anglais
themaddog14/06/2011

L'avis de themaddog (contenu en anglais)"The standard for live vocal performace"

Shure SM58
This is a dynamic microphone meant primarily for live vocal use. It is the standard for live vocal performance, but they've been making them for very long time without an on/off switch on the vast majority of their models. Run with it, spit on it, drop it, and it'll still keep on working, sounding the same as it ever did (even with a bent grill).

OVERALL OPINION

This is the standard for vocal performance. Most clubs use this as their house mic, but that doesn't mean it is the very best mic. It is a good standard microphone for most people. For those with a thin sounding voice, using the proximity effect of boosting the bass by putting the mic right to their lips will give a much fuller sound.

The SM58 is pretty quiet when handled, which is probably its greatest attribute live.

Electrically it is very similar to the Shure SM57, which is the standard for miking guitar cabinets. If you are in a bind, you can use an SM58 for this purpose and probably won't hear the difference between the two microphones.

If you can get this microphone used, it's great to have a small arsenal of these if you have a band with multiple vocalists. That being said, there are a lot of phonies out there from the East, so beware when buying one used, especially over the internet. If you purchase a new one, buy it from a reputable, local store if possible.

For a starter project studio, this or the SM57 are great first microphones as they are so versatile. They might not be the best recording microphones, but they can be used for so many different purposes. On vacation I've taken an SM58 with me for recording in a Portastudio and achieved some good results.

I've never had a Shure product quit on me, which is saying something!
contenu en anglais
songboy17/01/2010

L'avis de songboy (contenu en anglais)

Shure SM58
This is a Dynamic microphone.  It can be used in almost any setting.  I don't recommend it for Vocals in a Studio setting because you should really be using a quality condenser for that.  But, I was told a few times by a few different people that the SM 58 and the SM 57 are identical microphones with the exception of the Grills.  With that being said, I have used my SM58 on all sorts of gear including Guitar amps, bass amps (in conjunction with a Beta 52a), drums (snares and toms) and yes, even vocals (before I got some nice condensors).  With the exception of Vocals, this thing sounds great on everything in the studio.  There is a reason that Shure SM mics are the industry standard.  They are very clean and crisp and they can take a really good beating and keep on trucking.  As for live situations, these things are essential for any working band or venue.  I used to host an open mic for over a year and the venue had about 6 of these and they were dropped repeatedly buy clumsy or drunk musicians and every single one worked great the whole time I was there.  On top of all that, I asked the owner at one point when he got the mics and he said many years ago.  When it comes down to preference however, I always take my Shure Beta 58a and my BG 5.1 vocal condenser if its just me singing through them.  The SM 58 always rides along but the other two are just all around better/stronger mics.

OVERALL OPINION

One of the best things about all Shure Mics is the amazing warranty they have.  Even when its out of warranty, no matter what happened, or what condition it is in, you can always send it to shure with a nominal fee (about $35 to $40) and get a brand spanking new one in return.   Besides that, this mic also gets props for its ability to take a beating and still sound great.   For the price (under $100) and its durability, this is a great mic.  The precision and quality of the sound is excellent for a mic in this price range.  I have used many different condenser mics including Samsons, Audix (also very nice), and behringer and the only one that can share the stage in my opinion is the Audix.  The rest are just wastes of money.  Yes, I would definitely keep a few of these around all the time.  You never know when you might need one and you can always be sure that it will live up to its reputation.
contenu en anglais
mooseherman29/04/2009

L'avis de mooseherman (contenu en anglais)

Shure SM58
This dynamic mic is usable for live and studio settings, but it definitely works better in a live setting. There are some instances where it is a good mic to have in the studio. It's quite similar in design to the SM57, the obvious difference being the cap. The round cap on the 58 makes it more ideal for vocals in a live setting, since its ability to pick up voices is enhanced by the cap. In reality, it can be used for almost anything that the SM57 can be used on, which includes guitar/bass/keyboard amps, horns, and some percussion. Many people find that they can be used for almost anything. In the studio, or when recording at home, it can be used for many things, and while it's rarely the best choice, it can make do as a snare mic or horn mic when on an extremely tight budget.

OVERALL OPINION

I've used these mics for about 8 years and have never had a problem. I like using them for live vocals mostly. They are virtually indestructible and the sound quality has never deteriorated or gotten worse. I like the versatility of them a lot as well. For someone who isn't an audiophile, or hasn't been around microphones for very long, the differences between this mic and some of its higher-end dynamic mic counterparts is barely noticeable, or sometimes not noticeable at all. For this reason, they are more than worth the price. In fact, I've yet to find a mic in their price range that even comes close. I would say that anybody who plays live, and any broke musician who wants to start recording at home would be wise to purchase at least one of these mics. They are better in groups, though, and most people end up buying a few, which is wise.
contenu en anglais
rains_en06/02/2009

L'avis de rains_en (contenu en anglais)

Shure SM58
The shure sm-58 is a workhorse. While it is idea for vocals, it is good for live sound or studio sound but is most comfortable and commonly used in live settings. Pitted against the far superior EV brand, an untrained listener usually cant tell the difference. By no means is it cheaply made, these things are virtually indestructible. Working for a live sound company, I recommend them to most of my clients simply because they can withstand the carelessness of simple-minded singers, while maintaining a professional appearance and sound. I would not recommend it for studio recording if you have the choice to spring for some good studio quality mics. As far as the sm-57 goes, there is much speculation in likening it to the sm-58. The 58 is a vocal mic, the 57, designed for instruments. Listen to them for yourself.

OVERALL OPINION

The sm-58 was the first mic I ever got. Ive used it for around 7 years and I still have the first ones I ever got. Lending them to churches and bands over the years, they've been through everything imaginable and they still sound great. Having attended several classes on sound engineering, it is clear that the sm-58 is a good industry standard that never fails to deliver. I've seen it pitted against several mics and you just cant beat it for the price. Buying this mic will enshure your satisfaction.
contenu en anglais
moosers04/02/2009

L'avis de moosers (contenu en anglais)

Shure SM58
The Shure SM58 is a dynamic microphone that can be used in either a live setting or the recording studio. While it is widely used in both situations, I have used it mostly in a live situation and have found that they are most useful in this setting because of how well built and long lasting these are. It has a sleek design that has almost become synonymous with what a live vocal mic looks like as it is perfect for holding and singing into. The SM58 is essentially the same microphone as the SM57 on the inside - the only difference is the grill on the SM58, which makes it more suitable for vocals. For this reason it has become an industry standard for live vocal mics because of their high sound quality, their sturdiness, and how cheap in price they are.

OVERALL OPINION

I've been using Shure SM58s for about seven years and boy can these things take a beating. I have seen ones that appear to have huge dents in them, but still work great. They are the top choice of a lot of touring bands as they can stand to take a beating and even if they get lost or stolen they are cheap and easily replaceable. These mics will definitley give you your moneys worth and even sound pretty great in the studio. In this price range I don't think I can find a mic that is as good or as reliable as this one. I'm Having a few SM58s around is always a good thing, no matter what you are doing musically. I recommend checking these out for live vocals or even for use in the studio. They're great all around mics brought to you by a great company with a great reputation for making high quality mics at reasonable prices.
contenu en anglais
JackLudden10/08/2008

L'avis de JackLudden (contenu en anglais)

Shure SM58
The SM58 is a dynamic microphone. It should primarily be used for live vocals. This is the mic that you see at almost every live performance you've been to, except for maybe the higher end concerts that would have something nicer. Being a cardioid dynamic mic, it is well suited for close mic'ing an isolated source in a noisy environment (ie, stage).

Stick this mic right up to a singer's mouth and you will get minimal bleed from the other instruments on-stage. The frequency response also is tailored for this use. It has a low frequency roll-off to account for the proximity effect that will be caused by someone singing with the mic right on their lips. There is also a presence boost in its frequency response, so this should help the vocals cut through a bit better.

Additionally, the head of the mic is encased in a wire grill over some foam, so this will help to reduce the plosive sounds you'll get from a singer.

OVERALL OPINION

I've been using these since about 6 years ago. It is pretty much the standard live vocal mic. It definitely gets the job done just fine, and at an attractive price. If I had to complain, you could say the highs can be a little dull, but frankly this is less important in a live setting - you wouldn't really want to use this for recording, when a condenser mic would be best.

They are also extremely durable - I've dropped SM58's so many times and they always work just fine. And if you dent the grill on the end and you need your mics to be in pristine condition - Shure sells replacement grills. Another benefit this has is due to the fact that it's a cardiod, if you keep it faced toward the band, and behind your main PA (so that your mic never faces the fronts of the speakers) you can dramatically reduce chance of feedback, because the mic is going to reject sound source from behind it.

I've used many similar products, and at this price range, for a live vocal mic you can't go wrong. Not only would I buy it again - I have - I own a few of them. Any band who wants to start getting some of their own performance equipment should definitely invest in one or more of these mics, until such time they can afford much higher priced alternatives.