Devenir membre
Devenir Membre

ou
Connexion
Se connecter

ou
Ajouter ce produit à
  • Mon ancien matos
  • Mon matos actuel
  • Mon futur matos
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe
Photos
1/2111

Tous les avis sur Fender Hot Rod Deluxe

Ampli combo tout lampe pour guitare de la marque Fender appartenant à la série Hot Rod Deluxe

Filtres
Mots clés
Note moyenne :
( 4.3/5 sur 78 avis )
43 avis
55 %
24 avis
31 %
7 avis
9 %
3 avis
4 %
1 avis
1 %
Donner un avis
Avis des utilisateurs
  • EroachguitarEroachguitar

    Bonne canal clean, sautez la surmultipliée.

    Fender Hot Rod DeluxePublié le 01/10/12 à 21:39
    contenu en anglais (contenu en anglais)
    Fender has been the golden standard for guitar amplification for over 50 years. From the earliest RCA-inspired circuits to modern models like the Supersonic, Fender has been a prime player in the game every step of the way.

    The Hot Rod Deluxe was introduced in 1995 as part of the Hot Rod series, which also included the Hot Rod Deville 4x10.

    The Hot Rod Deluxe is a 1x12, 40 watt combo amplifier, powered by two 6L6GC's and voiced by three 12AX7A preamp valves. with a single channel and 3 switchable levels of gain.It has a preamp line out jack, as well as a power amp line out jack that allows it to use an extension speaker cabinet. There's also a footswitch jack for an included 2 button, 3 function footswitch.

    UTILIZATION

    The Hot Rod Deluxe is a master volume amp, allowing you to dial as much warmth into your clean tone or as much distortion into your overdrive as you want. A 3-band EQ helps further shape your tone, while a Presence control adds clean treble and a Reverb level controls the built-in spring reverb.

    A rather interesting feature of the Hotrod Deluxe is its 3 stages of overdrive. Rather than having 3 separate channels crammed into one small combo chassis, Fender went the economical way and added an extra preamp tube to stack extra gain stages into the mix, essentially just adding more and more distortion to the bass tone. And this is where they strike out.

    When demoing the Hot Rod Deluxe, one thing becomes quickly evident. The overdrive is pretty nasty. It's rattly, unfocused, and harsh, and I suspect the Jensen Special Design speaker that comes with the amp doesn't help matters.

    The Clean tone is decent, however, and takes pedals rather well. And for this purpose the amp makes a solid grab-n-go or even a backline amp. But, I mean really, it's a Fender. They couldn't get away with having an amp with a bad clean tone. It's just sacrilege.

    SOUNDS

    The Clean Tone, depending on gain setting, can go from sparkly, spanky clean to slightly overdriven, tweedy goodness. The use of humbuckers drives the amp even farther, whereas single coils still allow the amp to breathe a bit by comparison.

    Unfortunately, the clean tone, for most players, is the only usable tone in this amp. The Drive mode isn't terrible, but it isn't great either. It's a bit of a rattly omen of what's to come with the More Drive mode. More Drive pushes the amp into all out trainwreck (and not in the Ken Fischer sense) territory. The tones in this mode are harsh, muddy, piercing... it's just bad. It does a fine job of making your guitar sound like a $75 beater fresh out of the dumpster. Which is fine, if you're into that sort of thing. Not so much, if you're not.

    EQ settings are decently responsive, though not so much in the overdrive modes. The amp has an underlying harshness no matter how its set, and I suspect the speaker choice has a large influence on that. Reverb is economical and mediocre in depth and texture.

    OVERALL OPINION

    The Hot Rod Deluxe serves best as one of those amps you buy for $300 on Craigslist, take home, do some mods to it, upgrade the speaker, and use it for a small gig amp where most of your non-clean tones will be coming from pedals. I don't consider it an intrinsically versatile amplifier.

    The Hot Rod Deluxe III is said to have made considerable improvements on the overdrive modes, and I've yet to hear or play one, but I can only hope this is true. Still, the Hot Rod Deluxe has its uses, and it's not the worst amp out there, but I can think of several other models of Fender combo I would request as backline long before this one.
  • Linn SondekLinn Sondek

    Un must have!

    Fender Hot Rod DeluxePublié le 16/08/12 à 16:42
    J'ai fais l'acquisition de cet amplificateur en 1998 et à cette époque il était fabriqué aux USA.
    Combo à lampes, d'origine monté en Groove Tube : 3 12Ax7 et 26L6.
    Un master, un réglage de drive, un volume pour le canal clean dotée d'un switch "bright", une équalisation commune bass/middle/trebble, une réverbe et une présence.
    Boucle d'effets et sortie pour un cabinet externe.
    3 canaux : Clean, Drive et more Drive. Pédalier fourni pour le changement des canaux.
    Housse de protection.
    40W qui sonne TRES TRES fort!
    La fabrication est d'excellente qualité. Vraiment, tout est parfait que cela soit la fination, le collage, l'assemblage général, pas la moindre fausse note.


    UTILISATION…
    Lire la suite
    J'ai fais l'acquisition de cet amplificateur en 1998 et à cette époque il était fabriqué aux USA.
    Combo à lampes, d'origine monté en Groove Tube : 3 12Ax7 et 26L6.
    Un master, un réglage de drive, un volume pour le canal clean dotée d'un switch "bright", une équalisation commune bass/middle/trebble, une réverbe et une présence.
    Boucle d'effets et sortie pour un cabinet externe.
    3 canaux : Clean, Drive et more Drive. Pédalier fourni pour le changement des canaux.
    Housse de protection.
    40W qui sonne TRES TRES fort!
    La fabrication est d'excellente qualité. Vraiment, tout est parfait que cela soit la fination, le collage, l'assemblage général, pas la moindre fausse note.


    UTILISATION

    On a là une configuration des plus classiques et le manuel n'est pas nécessaire. Il est présent, clair accompagné du shéma de l'ampli.
    On obtient rapidement un excellent son parmi une large palette de sonorités disponibles.

    SONORITÉS

    Cet ampli est très polyvalent, il peut sonner vintage comme moderne car les réglages de tonalité se montrent particulièrement efficaces.
    Il accepte parfaitement tous les types de pédales directement en façade ou dans la boucle d'effets qui est d'excellente qualité.
    La réverbe, magnifique, sait se montrer discrète et, passé la moitié du réglage, ample et présente. Elle reste dans tous les cas musicale.
    Le canal clean est superbe d'équilibre, de dynamique et de... clarté! Un adjectif symbolise précisemment ce canal : il est articulé à la perfection. Oui, chaque note, chaque corde résonne toujours bien déliée. Et quelle pêche!
    Strat et LP l'adorent car le combo sait s'effacer devant les grandes dames et les respecter. Les deux sonnent exactement comme elles sont supposées le faire et même un sourd entendra la différence de signature sonore entre ces deux déesses.
    Le canal drive offre une plage d'action très étendue dans le domaine du crunch et c'est un régal. Il réagit à la perfection aux réglages de volume et de tonalité de la guitare (gros avantage à la Les Paul compte-tenu de sa meilleure électronique)et à l'attaque des doigts : excellent encore.
    Le canal more drive se montre intéressant si on n'a pas de pédales sous le pieds, il grossit sensiblement le son du canal Drive, lui ajoutant des bas-médiums. La qualité de la guitare (ses micros et sa lutherie) se montre alors fondamentale car c'est la condition absolue pour que ce canal reste articulé et quelque peu défini. A titre d'exemple : une LP Traditional en micro chevalet (tonalité 4-6) est fantastique sur ce canal, une LP Tribute '50s Humbucker est nettement moins à l'aise (elle n'a tout simplement pas le "coffre" suffisant, ici se marque les limites des corps "chambered"), une Strat US en position milieu/manche et tonalité à 0 est impeccable d'intelligibilté.
    Encore une fois, et ceci est valble pour tous les produits dotés d'un réglage de gain ou de drive, il ne sert strictement à rien de pousser le potard à fond (sauf si on est adepte de la ronflette à tout va!!!!).

    AVIS GLOBAL

    Voici donc une quinzaine d'années que ce Hot Rod Deluxe me donne entièrement satisfaction. Je n'ai jamais eu le moindre problème, la fiabilité n'est pas ici un vain mot. De tous les amplis que j'ai possédés, essayés durant ces 35 dernières années, il figure parmis les meilleurs. Sa qualité se sent également à son comportement lors de tests ou de changments des lampes et il est vraiment intéressant de varier les plaisirs -et les modèles! avec des lampes différentes sur les positions V1, V2 et V3. Sur mon modèle les TAD ECC83 RT0008 ou les Sovtek 12AX7 WA se marient très bien, avec une préférence pour la Sovtek en V3, les Tung Sol font merveille également et même les JJ à 8€ montrent leur caractère qui peut être bien trempé!
    Bref, cet ampli, là aussi sait être transparent et laisse s'exprimer les différence de nature sonore entre les lampes. Je n'ai par contre fait aucune expérimentation sur les lampes d'amplification et suis resté fidèle aux Groove Tubes, chères mais impeccables à ce niveau.

    Enfin, le HP d'origine est très bon, quoique j'ai pu lire ici ou là, mais faites l'essai : brancher sur la sortie externe un cabinet équipé d'un Celestion Vintage 30 et vous re-découvrirez ce combo. Les deux HP se marient à la perfection et l'ampleur, la diffusion obtenue est juste exceptionelle.

    Le rapport qualité-prix? Je dirai excellent mais sans connaitre le comportement du modèle actuel fabriqué au Mexique. Je ne doute pas que Fender le produise avec le même soin dont il bénéficiait dans l'usine US car l'usine méxicaine fait un sacré beau travail.
    Lire moins
  • HoenneHoenne

    L'idéal pour moi

    Fender Hot Rod DeluxePublié le 04/01/12 à 11:44
    Je ne répète pas encore ces spécificités.

    A noter : il est BEAUCOUP trop puissant, ce qui le rend inutilisable en appartement (sauf avec un son tout mou, vu qu'il ne chauffe pas), et on couvre facilement un groupe passé les 4/12.

    J'ai donc pris un atténuateur de puissance VHM (200€ avec frais de ports). Et là c'est vraiment un excellent ampli, on en tire le meilleur partout. Je ne l'utilise pas comme une brute : ampli à 2/3 + atténuateur à la moitié.

    Donc 7/10 pour le besoin de réinvestir derrière.

    UTILISATION

    Voir précédent.

    Manuel clair.

    Une fois le VHM monté le son est excellentissime, chaud, précis, un peu crunchy (tout dépend de comment on règle l'atténuateur) …
    Lire la suite
    Je ne répète pas encore ces spécificités.

    A noter : il est BEAUCOUP trop puissant, ce qui le rend inutilisable en appartement (sauf avec un son tout mou, vu qu'il ne chauffe pas), et on couvre facilement un groupe passé les 4/12.

    J'ai donc pris un atténuateur de puissance VHM (200€ avec frais de ports). Et là c'est vraiment un excellent ampli, on en tire le meilleur partout. Je ne l'utilise pas comme une brute : ampli à 2/3 + atténuateur à la moitié.

    Donc 7/10 pour le besoin de réinvestir derrière.

    UTILISATION

    Voir précédent.

    Manuel clair.

    Une fois le VHM monté le son est excellentissime, chaud, précis, un peu crunchy (tout dépend de comment on règle l'atténuateur) idéal pour presque tout les styles, avec une bonne disto (blackstar distX) on peut même en sortir des sons type métal, même si ce n'est pas là qu'il est le plus à l'aise. Je le préfères vraiment pour le rock/blues.

    Les crunchs fournis par le deuxième circuit sont vraiment sympa. Alors oui, ils sont beaucoup décriés, prétendus froids, et de type transistor. Pour avoir longtemps eu un Marshall MG à transo, je sais faire la différence ! Elle a un côté un peu sale, c'est vrai, mais que j'aime beaucoup (donc question de gout). Hanni El Katib se servait de cet ampli sur sa première tournée pour vous donner un ordre d'idée. J'aime beaucoup m'en servir pour le blues/rock un peu crado. Tout dépend de la guitare que l'on met dedans, et de ce que l'on recherche. C'est sur qu'avec une Parker on ne va pas bien loin ! Mais elle se marie très bien avec Strat/Tele/335.

    Concernant la Reverb, on entend tout et son contraire dessus. Personnellement je m'en sers tout le temps vers 1-2 pour rajouter un peu de présence au son. Au dessus elle est très voyante, c'est dommage que l'on n'ai pas un switch pour la désactiver.
    Du coup je me sers plus de mon Mémory Man quand je veux une grosse reverb.

    SONORITÉS

    Joué avec une stratocaster US (avec des Seymour Duncan SSL1), et une 335 avec des classic 57, et ça colle. Il réagit bien aux pédales, garde le caractère de la guitare, et couvre toutes les sonorités que je recherche.

    Le son est très pur en clean. (Vous pouvez avoir facilement un son bluesy à la BB King, un clair claquant et précis). C'est un peu pour ça qu'il est réputé.
    Pour les crunchs c'est plus une affaire de gouts, mais ce n'est pas un best-seller pour rien.
    Je n'ai pas encore essayé de changer les lampes, je sais que c'est un moyen d'en améliorer le son, j'essaierai sans doute prochainement.

    AVIS GLOBAL

    Je l'ai depuis bientôt 4 ans.
    J'ai essayé pas mal de trucs avant de l'acheter.

    Le plus : le son, la polyvalence, qualité générale, puissance.

    Les moins : le trop plein de puissance, inutilisable à bas volume, le prix + réinvestissement, l'impossibilité de couper facilement la reverb.

    Avec l'expérience : je referai ce choix, surtout que les nouveaux modèles ont l'air assez sympa.

    Lire moins
  • phraselandphraseland

    Fender Hot Rod DeluxePublié le 02/02/09 à 17:02
    contenu en anglais (contenu en anglais)
    If you consider the price this amp is the perfekt tube amp for blues guitarists. The amp is relatively light weight, very practical, looks nice and contains the full power of tubes.

    UTILIZATION

    This is a basic tube amp combo. As long as you don't overuse the highs there should be no problem to the get the sound you are looking for. For Overdrive or Distortion use a pedal and don't think about using the built in reverb with a setting higher than 4.

    SOUNDS

    It has a very warm tone with a lot of mids. The spring reverb Fender tends to build into these models just sounds very washy to me...I don’t like. In the upper frequency range the amp unfortunately sounds a bit too edgy.

    OVERALL OPINION

    Still I have to say that this amp is to me the best choice in its price range – especially when it’s being used as a good sounding power amp with speakers (meaning that the true sound character comes from the pedal board). It is equally suited for guitarists who are looking for a nice, warm clean sound.
  • kasperjensenkasperjensen

    Elle est ma fierté et ma joie ...

    Fender Hot Rod DeluxePublié le 15/03/11 à 17:21
    contenu en anglais (contenu en anglais)
    - 40W tube power

    - 3 X 12AX, 2 X 6L6

    - Solid state rectifier

    - 1-12" special design Eminence® 8 ohm, 50W speaker

    - Three selectable channels (Normal, Drive and More Drive)

    - Independent gain and master controls in Drive channel

    - Bright switch

    - Effects loop

    - Reverb

    - External speaker jack

    - 2-button 3-function footswitch for channel select, Drive select and "More Drive" select

    - Chrome panel

    - Vintage pointer knobs

    - Internal Variable Bias Control

    - 45lb

    UTILIZATION

    I think, nay... I believe we are all guilty of shopping for guitar equipment with our eyes, rather than our ears. And I am particularly bad when it comes to this.

    Whatever manufacturer has placed most blue LED lights on their products, receives a framed letter with my credit card details for use at their discretion.

    Having said that, something caught my eye with the Fender Hot Rod Deluxe. Having gone through numerous amounts of slightly embarrassing set-ups, I decided to try something more plain. And I am so glad I did.

    I simply can not make this 40W combo sound bad (in terms of a template for me to noodle over... My playing is another issue).

    Anything I plug in sounds lush...

    SOUNDS

    The HRD (or "Simpleton" as I like to call it) has quickly become MY amp.

    I need to cover a variety of different styles from Beyonce and Lady Gaga to Blind Faith and Muddy Waters (and everything in between), and utilising a bunch of different amps and set-ups just isn't viable.

    So instead, I have what I would describe as "The Working Musicians Rig" :

    Fender HRD
    Guitar (whichever suits the band the best)
    Pedal board consisting of a TC Electronics Nova System, TC PolyTune, Cry Baby, Volume...

    I am so happy!

    Now with this I can get great tones for whatever the night may require, and I can get them fast.

    The HRD really just lets you mould your sound into the amp, rather than forcing you in another direction.

    The clean channel is to die for, and the overdrive channel is usable (although you will get much better results using pedals into the clean).

    OVERALL OPINION

    What I like most about it is the versatility the clean channel offers. I have plugged numerous amounts of pedals into the front end, and it has yet to respond badly to any of them.

    I can go from an Eric Johnson style smooth lead, using i.e.:

    Any glassy OD pedal
    MXR Carbon Copy (plus some reverb from the amp)

    to full on death using i.e.:

    Blackstar Blackfire.

    This is worth the price of admission alone (and lets be honest... It's a cheap amp).

    The dirty channel is not overly impressive, but I have yet to meet someone who buys a Fender amp for it's distortion. Still... This could be improved.
    I will hold my hand up now, and plead guilty to mistreating my HRD. Constantly being thrown in and out of trunks, clubs, home, rehearsal rooms, etc... It has worked up a few cosmetic "flaws", but has never once failed me (knock on wood).

    I would definitely recommend this combo to anyone who needs something that delivers night after night, and lets YOU decide how YOU want to sound.

    PS: You won't find a better clean channel out there.
  • moosehermanmooseherman

    Fender Hot Rod DeluxePublié le 10/04/10 à 21:15
    contenu en anglais (contenu en anglais)
    This is a pretty solid tube amp. It has two channels, one clean, one distorted. The distorted channel has the option of switching between a crunch and a more powerful heavy distortion. There are two 1/4" inputs and an external speaker output. I don't think the speaker out is very necessary, because the speakers in this combo are fantastic. There's about 40 watts on this baby. It has a 3-band EQ, plus controls for volume for each channel, a gain knob on the dirty channel, a master volume and a reverb and presence knob.

    UTILIZATION

    I like the sounds that you can get from this amp. It's almost perfect for rehearsing with a large band as you don't need to set up a huge pedalboard to really get the sound you need for songs. The dirty channel is surprisingly and refreshingly versatile. There aren't any effects other than reverb and distortion, so don't expect much in that way. The manual is pretty much unnecessary but it's at least there if you need it.

    SOUNDS

    I think that the clean tone on this amp is pretty awesome, if not phenomenal. Most Fender amps are usually pretty solid. I don't think there are many people who would be totally satisfied with the dirty tone on this amp. Functionally, it can cover a lot of stylistic ground from classic and country-rock to hard rock like Guns n' Roses. But it doesn't really compete with a Marshall stack or a good pedal. I'm sure that using the dirty channel in combination with a good pedal could result in some fantastic sounds. I think overall, though, that the dirty channel is weak. If you're just looking for the tube sound, I'd say go with a twin, it sounds better.

    OVERALL OPINION

    This amp is definitely a case of function over form. The tones work for rehearsals, like I said before. I wouldn't record anything with this amp, though. I also wouldn't really want to perform live with it. This might be good for up-and-comers more than seasoned vets. Think about that when purchasing.
  • iamqmaniamqman

    Mieux le ton

    Fender Hot Rod DeluxePublié le 30/06/11 à 23:55
    contenu en anglais (contenu en anglais)
    There are a couple new features in the Hot Rod Deluxe that are very important to me. The first one being that speaker that is standard is actually usable. They used to have some cheap speaker in there that wasn't very musical and a lot of guys would switch out the speaker for something much more sweeter in tone. The next feature is a usable gain channel two and three. Before the gain channels were so bad that I never even used them. They sounded terrible and nothing like a tube amp distortion.


    Fender Hot Rod Deluxe III Combo Guitar Amplifier Features at a Glance:

    * Amplifier type: Tube
    * Output power: 40W
    * Speaker: 1 x 12" Celestion G12P-80, 8-ohm speaker
    * Output impedance: 4 ohms or 8 ohms
    * Preamp tubes: 3 x 12AX7
    * Power tubes: 2 x 6L6
    * Rectifier: Solid state
    * Inputs: 2
    * Channels: 3 selectable channels (Normal, Drive, and More Drive)
    * Controls: Presence, Reverb, Master Volume, Middle, Bass, Treble, Drive select switch, Drive Volume, Bright switch
    * Effects: Spring reverb
    * Effects loop: Preamp output/power amp input
    * Speaker jack: Extension speaker jack
    * Covering/grille cloth: Black textured-vinyl covering with Blackface-style black/silver grille cloth
    * Footswitch: 2-button, 3-function footswitch included
    * Cover: Amplifier cover included

    UTILIZATION

    Details
    Type Tube
    Number of Channels Three
    Power 40W
    Speakers 1 x Celestion G12P-80
    No Effects
    Reverb
    EQ Treble, Bass, Middle
    No Modeling
    Number of Tubes 5
    Preamp Tubes 3 x 12AX7
    Power Tubes 2 x 6L6
    Inputs 2 x Instrument
    Outputs 1 x Speaker
    Footswitch I/O
    Effects Loop
    Height 18.75"
    Width 23.5"
    Depth 10.5"
    Weight 45 lbs.

    SOUNDS

    Now that they have a usable gain channel then this amp has much more flexibility that before. The old amps were just outright sloppy. The bad thing is that these amps are made in Mexico. So they are going to be cheaper made and will break down on you a lot quicker. I'm not sure if they fixed the jewel light from going out on this model. Everyone who owned this amp knows that the light always goes out on these things.

    Anyway, use this amp with any nice guitar. I like this amp with a solid Gibson Les Paul. I used it with a Line 6 Dl4 and a Ibanez Ts9 and I had some great tones that cut through the band quite well.

    OVERALL OPINION

    If you are on the market for a good tube amp that has two moderate low gain but usable gain then this might be the amp for you. That is if it is the newest model. The older models had an unusable dirty channel.

    I would recommend getting this amp is you need a decent clean amp that has a good tone for pedals. I gigged a lot with my amp but always ran pedals in front of it. The other two channels were pointless. If you need distortion then don't get this amp. However I would never buy this amp since its made in Mexico. For the price of this amp I would buy a used Marshall JCM2000. At new these amps come in at around $700. You can even pick up a Peavey 5150 for the price of this thing.
  • heads on fireheads on fire

    Si elle n'a pas explosé, ce serait mon ampli préféré.

    Fender Hot Rod DeluxePublié le 08/09/11 à 06:00
    contenu en anglais (contenu en anglais)
    Tube amp - 3 12AX7s, 2 6L6s

    40 watts

    1-12" special design Eminence® 8 ohm, 50W speaker

    3 channels - clean, drive, and more drive

    Master volume and gain controls in drive channel

    Bright switch

    Spring reverb

    External speaker output

    Effects loop

    2-button footswitch for channel selection/drive to more drive selection

    UTILIZATION

    This seemed to be a great gigging amp - small and compact, didn't weigh too much, and looked great. The sounds were killer, and very easy to dial in. I could get great country, blues, jazz, and old time rock sounds out of it with no problem. Metal would be a bit harder to achieve - it took me getting out my dirt boxes to find a usable metal tone. But the drive and more drive channels were still great for inspiring solo flights!

    SOUNDS

    This amp sounds incredible. It has great, glassy, shimmery cleans with plenty of chime. And the dirty channels are pretty smooth - a bit hairy, but can be tamed by swapping preamp tubes for other manufacturer's products. The reverb is as good as you'd find on any amp, and the EQ section is sensitive, yet highly usable.

    I played these amps with all kinds of guitars - Strats, Teles, Les Pauls, 335s, shredder guitars, and they all sounded great, but like themselves - the amp is transparent. And it takes pedals very well also. The sound of this amp is nothing to sneeze at.

    OVERALL OPINION

    The Fender Hot Rod Deluxe is a marvelous idea in theory, but in practice, the amp is bound to make you rip your hair out of your head. In using PCB construction methods, Fender is able to have a well-designed circuit be manufactured and sold for a very low price.

    The problem is in the design - the tube sockets are mounted directly ON the PC board. What happens with tubes when you turn a tube amp on? They heat up. And heat is the enemy of solder traces, resistors, and capacitors - the heat from the tubes caused short circuits in my two HRD amps a total of four times, with the last two ending in literal smoke.

    If you want a great sounding amp that you're ok with throwing away in a few short years, by all means, get this amp. It is the opposite of durable due to its fatal design flaw.
  • King LoudnessKing Loudness

    Pas mal

    Fender Hot Rod DeluxePublié le 31/10/11 à 15:28
    contenu en anglais (contenu en anglais)
    The Fender Hot Rod Deluxe is a fairly standard amplifier featuring two channels, an onboard gain boost for the drive channel, reverb, an effects loop and 40 watts of power driven by a single Eminence speaker. It is powered by a pair of 6L6s in the power section and it is basically meant to offer a decent Fender clean coupled with a reasonable drive circuit for everything from crunch to higher octane tones. It's a very common backline amp and I've used them at numerous club and festival shows. It's a pretty loud amp like many Fenders and cuts through in a band mix quite well.

    UTILIZATION

    Dialing in this amp for good tones is reasonable. It does suffer from a pretty awful sudden volume jump that can be a disadvantage when dialing in sounds. It has a fairly reasonable EQ and reacts as it should to control adjustment. The tones themselves are decent. I find this amp sounds a bit anemic due to the single speaker configuration. I've had better luck with the 4x10 Hot Rod Deville which has a punchier attack to my ears. It has a pretty good range of tones from clean to high gain and despite sounding a bit thin it can be made to be a great workhorse amp.

    SOUNDS

    This amp sounds at home with a variety of different guitars and in a variety of musical contexts. It has a great classic Fender clean sound that gets great sparkle and clarity especially with a single coil loaded guitar like a Strat or Tele. The crunch tones have a great raw energy to them that is right at home with a Les Paul or ES335. The highest gain tones have a nice open airy quality but can be prone to buzziness at uber high gain. It's not an amp that was built with metal styles in mind but it does sound good for classic or hard rock, especially if boosted.

    OVERALL OPINION

    All in all I think the Fender Hot Rod Deluxe is a decent workhorse amp for some looking for a versatile amp with good clear Fender cleans and a reasonable drive tone. They can be had for about $500 used which is a fair deal. I'm not the biggest fan of the single speaker layout but it works well enough for what it is.
  • mcl57mcl57

    Bon ampli !

    Fender Hot Rod DeluxePublié le 22/10/11 à 16:40
    Nous allons passer sur les détails, les posts précédents ont déjà fait le tour de la question.

    Cependant rappelons qu'il s'agit d'un ampli lampes 40W, avec énormément de puissance disponible, donc a utiliser de façon restreinte en appartement.

    Le seul point à souligner ici est que les modèles 1 et 2 étaient équipés de HP Eminence, qui ne sont pas top pour l'ampli il faut avouer.
    Le problème est résolu avec le Mark.3 qui arbore un HP Celestion !

    UTILISATION

    La configuration de l'ampli est très simple :

    - 1 interrupteur Power et un Stand-By

    - un bouton switch pour passer du son clair à l'overdrive, et un autre pour passer en mode "More drive" une fois l'OD active.

    - u…
    Lire la suite
    Nous allons passer sur les détails, les posts précédents ont déjà fait le tour de la question.

    Cependant rappelons qu'il s'agit d'un ampli lampes 40W, avec énormément de puissance disponible, donc a utiliser de façon restreinte en appartement.

    Le seul point à souligner ici est que les modèles 1 et 2 étaient équipés de HP Eminence, qui ne sont pas top pour l'ampli il faut avouer.
    Le problème est résolu avec le Mark.3 qui arbore un HP Celestion !

    UTILISATION

    La configuration de l'ampli est très simple :

    - 1 interrupteur Power et un Stand-By

    - un bouton switch pour passer du son clair à l'overdrive, et un autre pour passer en mode "More drive" une fois l'OD active.

    - un volume clair, un réglage "Drive, une égalisation 3 bandes commune au clair/OD, un Master pour l'OD, un réglage Reverb, et un réglage Presence.

    Pour le 3e point, les potentiomètres sont tous très lisibles et affichent un réglage allant jusqu'à 12.

    Le réglage du son quant à lui est plus délicat, car les basses sont beaucoup trop prononcées à mon gout sur cet ampli. Cela dit, chaque joueur doit trouver "son" son, donc il est difficile de répondre à la question. Le mieux est d'essayer vous même la bête et de vous faire votre propre avis.

    Le manuel n'est pas nécessaire.

    SONORITÉS

    Cet ampli peut convenir à différents styles de musique, à condition d'utiliser de bonnes pédales et d'avoir un HP Celestion embarqué. Dans le cas d'un Eminence, l'utilisation sera restreinte à du blues, ou du rock.

    J'ai testé la bête avec une Strato sur laquelle je joue beaucoup, et la c'est le bonheur total, du moins si vous recherchez le son Fender. C'est simplement le meilleur combo disponible pour reproduire le son légendaire de vos haches Fender.
    J'ai aussi une Les Paul, mais ca ne sonne pas comme il faut la dessus, mais bon c'est histoire de gouts comme dit.
    Je ne me sert pas de la reverb, et je met la presence au minimum. Ces deux options dénaturent le son beaucoup trop à mon gout.

    Pour ce qui est des sons clairs, l'ampli reste fidèle à la légende de la marque, autrement dit le son est parfait, quelle que soit la gratte.
    L'overdrive est excellent aussi, mais attention à le pas trop pousser le gain, ça devient dégueulasse au bout d'un moment (c'est pour cela qu'il est bien d'éviter le "More Drive" autant que possible).
    Et la encore je me répète, certains diront que le Drive est génial, mais ce n'est pas mon avis, je dirai qu'il ne correspond pas a l'ampli, car il n'est pas fait à mon sens pour produire du gros son disto.

    Donc en résumé, les sonorités sont parfaites si on fait de cet ampli l'usage qui lui est destiné.

    AVIS GLOBAL

    Je l'utilise depuis maintenant 2 ans et je dois avouer qu'il est parfait dans son domaine.

    J'avais essayé certains amplis avant de choisir celui la, mais mon choix final à été le Fender. Quoi de mieux que de disposer du son parfait et clair de vos Strat et Tele ?

    Il n'est pas polyvalent cependant, je vous conseille donc si vous avez besoin de jouer sur du son disto ou autre, de prendre une bonne pédale en appoint, ou si vous avez les moyens de vous prendre un autre ampli...

    Donc si vous jouez sur grattes Fender ou Squier même, cet ampli est fait pour vous. Il fera ressortir les sonorités profondes de vôtre instrument, et vous verrez que c'est le pied !
    De plus, le rapport qualité/prix est excellent, et c'est un ampli robuste et facilement transportable. Les 40 W qu'il a dans le sac ne broncheront pas, même face à un batteur excité.

    Pour conclure, je dirai que si j'avais à refaire ce choix, heh bien je le ferai !
    Lire moins
cookies
Nous utilisons les cookies !

Oui, Audiofanzine utilise des cookies. Et comme la dernière chose que nous voudrions serait de perturber votre alimentation avec des choses trop grasses ou trop sucrées, sachez que ces derniers sont fait maison avec des produits frais, bio, équitables et dans des justes proportions nutritives.
Ce que cela veut dire, c’est que les infos que nous y stockons ne visent qu’à simplifier votre usage du site comme à améliorer votre expérience sur nos pages et vous afficher des publicités personnalisées (en savoir plus).

Nous tenons à préciser qu’Audiofanzine n’a pas attendu qu’une loi nous y oblige pour respecter la vie privée de nos membres et visiteurs. Les cookies que nous utilisons ont en commun leur unique objectif qui est d’améliorer votre expérience utilisateur.

Tous nos cookies
Cookies non soumis à consentement
Il s'agit de cookies qui garantissent le bon fonctionnement du site Audiofanzine. Le site Web ne peut pas fonctionner correctement sans ces cookies. Exemples : cookies vous permettant de rester connecté de page en page ou de personnaliser votre utilisation du site (mode sombre ou filtres).
Google Analytics
Nous utilisons Google Analytics afin de mieux comprendre l’utilisation que nos visiteurs font de notre site pour tenter de l’améliorer.
Publicités
Ces informations nous permettent de vous afficher des publicités qui vous concernent grâce auxquelles Audiofanzine est financé. En décochant cette case vous aurez toujours des publicités mais elles risquent d’être moins intéressantes :) Nous utilisons Google Ad Manager pour diffuser une partie des publicités, des mécanismes intégrés à notre CMS pour le reste. Nous sommes susceptibles d’afficher des publicités provenant de notre propre plateforme, de Google Advertising Products ou encore de la régie Adform.

Nous tenons à préciser qu’Audiofanzine n’a pas attendu qu’une loi nous y oblige pour respecter la vie privée de nos membres et visiteurs. Les cookies que nous utilisons ont en commun leur unique objectif qui est d’améliorer votre expérience utilisateur.

Tous nos cookies
Cookies non soumis à consentement

Il s’agit de cookies qui garantissent le bon fonctionnement du site Audiofanzine. Le site Web ne peut pas fonctionner correctement sans ces cookies. Exemples : cookies vous permettant de rester connecté de page en page ou de personnaliser votre utilisation du site (mode sombre ou filtres).

Google Analytics

Nous utilisons Google Analytics afin de mieux comprendre l’utilisation que nos visiteurs font de notre site pour tenter de l’améliorer. Lorsque ce paramètre est activé, aucune information personnelle n’est envoyé à Google et les adresses IP sont anonymisées.

Publicités

Ces informations nous permettent de vous afficher des publicités qui vous concernent grâce auxquelles Audiofanzine est financé. En décochant cette case vous aurez toujours des publicités mais elles risquent d’être moins intéressantes :) Nous utilisons Google Ad Manager pour diffuser une partie des publicités, des mécanismes intégrés à notre CMS pour le reste. Nous sommes susceptibles d’afficher des publicités provenant de notre propre plateforme, de Google Advertising Products ou encore de la régie Adform.


Vous pouvez trouver plus de détails sur la proctection des données dans la politique de confidentialité.
Vous trouverez également des informations sur la manière dont Google utilise les données à caractère personnel en suivant ce lien.