Devenir membre
Devenir Membre
Continuer avec Google

ou
Connexion
Se connecter
Se connecter avec Google

ou
Filtres
Mots clés
Note moyenne :
( 4.8/5 sur 14 avis )
11 avis
79 %
3 avis
21 %
Donner un avis
Cible : Utilisateurs avertis Rapport qualité/prix : Excellent
Avis des utilisateurs
  • au bout du compte super ampli

    Mesa Boogie Mark V ComboPublié le 30/07/18 à 21:04
    je ne suis pas un super joueur .
    j'ai acheté cet ampli quasi neuf avec des lampes mesa le son était ample et puissant !!
    puis au fil du temps il sonnait sans aucune couleur mais toujours puissant ...

    un nouveau guitariste à une repet l'essaie et il me dit !! j'aime pas les mesa mais le tien c'est pire que tout !!! tes lampes sont rincées.

    je décide un peu septique de changer toutes les lampes (300euros!!)

    je mets des electro harmonix gold et là mes amis c'est un bijou, trop lourd pour moi mai un vraiment très très bon ampli avec lequel on peut faire beaucoup de choses si on sait régler ces usines à gaz .
    Il couvre vraiment tous les styles .

    je joue du dylan, hendrix, red chiki......
    Lire la suite
    je ne suis pas un super joueur .
    j'ai acheté cet ampli quasi neuf avec des lampes mesa le son était ample et puissant !!
    puis au fil du temps il sonnait sans aucune couleur mais toujours puissant ...

    un nouveau guitariste à une repet l'essaie et il me dit !! j'aime pas les mesa mais le tien c'est pire que tout !!! tes lampes sont rincées.

    je décide un peu septique de changer toutes les lampes (300euros!!)

    je mets des electro harmonix gold et là mes amis c'est un bijou, trop lourd pour moi mai un vraiment très très bon ampli avec lequel on peut faire beaucoup de choses si on sait régler ces usines à gaz .
    Il couvre vraiment tous les styles .

    je joue du dylan, hendrix, red chiki kings, gallager, stones, floyd, spencer dais, animals ..................

    il a trois puissances 10 45 90 donc ....

    trois niveaux de clai + 3 niveaux de crunch +3 niveaux de très saturés voire métallique....


    je déteste son poids
    je déteste le coût des lampes
    je déteste la difficulté des réglages mais ça c'est de ma faute!!!

    je voulais le vendre mais non je le garde !!!
    Lire moins
  • Incroyable mais vrai

    Mesa Boogie Mark V ComboPublié le 13/11/13 à 22:50
    Ampli à lampe : 4x6L6 pour la puissance, 5x12AX7 pour le préamp 1x5U4 pour le rectifier
    3 canaux équipé de 3 mode chacun avec 1 option, 1 clean avec mode Clean/Fat/Tweed option Bold, 1 crunch avec mode Edge/Crunch/Mark I option Thick, 1 drive avec mode Mark IIC+/MarK IV/Extreme option Bright
    1 switch 10/45/90w par canal
    1 switch diode/tube pour le canal 1 & 2 et Pentode/Triode pour le canal 3
    1 bouton Gain, Master, Presence, Bass, Treble, Middle, Reverb par canal
    1 equalizer 5 bandes ou selection de preset
    1 boucle d'effet
    1 bouton volume Solo et 1 bouton output (volume général)
    1 sortie accordeur
    1 HP 12' C90 Black Shadow Mesa Boogie by Celestion
    Le tout fait main au US
    ...
    Lire la suite
    Ampli à lampe : 4x6L6 pour la puissance, 5x12AX7 pour le préamp 1x5U4 pour le rectifier
    3 canaux équipé de 3 mode chacun avec 1 option, 1 clean avec mode Clean/Fat/Tweed option Bold, 1 crunch avec mode Edge/Crunch/Mark I option Thick, 1 drive avec mode Mark IIC+/MarK IV/Extreme option Bright
    1 switch 10/45/90w par canal
    1 switch diode/tube pour le canal 1 & 2 et Pentode/Triode pour le canal 3
    1 bouton Gain, Master, Presence, Bass, Treble, Middle, Reverb par canal
    1 equalizer 5 bandes ou selection de preset
    1 boucle d'effet
    1 bouton volume Solo et 1 bouton output (volume général)
    1 sortie accordeur
    1 HP 12' C90 Black Shadow Mesa Boogie by Celestion
    Le tout fait main au US

    UTILISATION

    J'utilise tout en mode 45w/10w, avec la reverb, le mode Tube, l'EQ avec une Télé Ritchie Kotzen, Strat avec Jeff Beck Jr, Ibanez RG, Gibson Flying V SH4, Explorer EMG 81...
    L’utilisation du pédalier lors d'un changement de canal n'a pas un rendu très propre, surtout quand on passe du Drive en Clean, en live c'est risqué bof...
    L'ampli est très capricieux avec les pédale en mode drive high gain, dès que la pédale n'est pas true bypass ou dispose d'un mauvais buffer ça s'entend tout de suite on a du souffle et des parasites en plus... par exemple le decimator en entrée c'est super naze et dans la boucle on perd du volume, de manière global je trouve la boucle pas terrible on a une perte de tonalité malgré qu'il y ait bien un bouton de volume dédié, le hic c'est qu'il fonctionne avec le bouton output si le outuput est bas le son de la boucle sera basse

    SONORITÉS

    Le canal clean est bien mais sans plus, j'ai une préférence pour le mode Fat avec option Bold comme sur la config Petrucci... qui sonne très jazzy sauf que par rapport à un clean type Fender, vu que je posséde le Deluxe 65 je préfére quand même mon Fender dans ce rôle qui est plus clair et plus dynamique avec un grain plus vintage, malgré tout c'est le meilleur clean Mesa à ma connaissance si je le compare au Roadster, le mode Tweed commence à crunché mais là attention ce n'est pas le rendu d'un Tweed 57 on a pas la nervosité, ce coté un peu boueux légèrement fuzzy et hargneux... c'est plus le prolongement naturel en drive du clean ça reste très propre, mais le mode est quand même sympa, sinon le clean avec un bon chorus les intros ou ballade type Metallica in the noise...
    Le canal crunch avec le mode Crunch et option Thick donne un résultat super intéressant on dirait du Marshall JCM au hormone made in US c'est très mélodique, le mode Thick (Mark I) donne un rendu vintage, ouvert et brillant à la fois, c'est droit et très propre toute les notes se détachent bien c'est impressionnant, on a une bonne dynamique rien à voir avec le canal Vintage du Mini Rectifier dit aussi la Knaki Maxi, sur ce canal on rentre du ACDC, Guns, Aerosmith... in the noise... c'est un canal que j'utilise en complément de mon Fender 65, toute mes pédales type Wampler (Plexidrive, Plextortion, Slostortion, Orange crush..) ont été revendus à cause de ce canal, avec l'EQ en façade on peut pousser encore plus loin la bête et là c'est carrement démentiel en résumé du crunch bien lourd qui envoie grave sa race,
    Le canal drive donc là j'ai deux modes de préférence le Mark IIC+ pour le coté Metallica old School et le Mark IV pour le coté Dream Theater autant dire que ces modes justifient l'achat de l'ampli à lui tout seul, on a deux philosophie le moderne 90 et le vintage 80, c'est propre tranchant net... on peut carrément allez à la source du Metal avec ce canal, il n'y a même pas à chier ou à tortiller du cul... en somme bout bonnement incroyable, encore une fois l'EQ en façade permet de sculpter le son et là c'est vraiment à tomber


    AVIS GLOBAL

    Autant dire coté Mesa j'ai eu le Mini Rectifier, le Rectoverb, le Roadster et puis celui là, en un seul mots, c'est le panard on est carrément dans la Rolls, alors qu'avec les autres Mesa sans dec c'est un peu la Twingo au prix de la Mercedes, je ne parlerais pas du Roadster qui est le top du Rectifier mais le son est quand même plus plat par contre bien plus lourd que le Mark V
    Là on a un ampli très versatile taillé pour du rock moderne, du metal, mais pas que... on a un clean qui est au dessus des autres séries et un canal crunch Mark I digne d'un JCM... donc 3 canal utilisable que demander de plus, par contre les fans de son Vintage passer votre chemin on est dans le chirurgical c'est net, droit et précis pas de rondeur ou de courbe flatteuse de trait typé old school...
    Après il y a le prix alors à 3000€ on oublie tout de suite, Randall Smith créateur de la marque nous parle d'une affaire vu qu'on posséde 3 véritables canaux ce qui fait 1000€ le canal fait main au US, le prix d'un bon Fender avoisine plus de 1000€ juste pour un clean fait d'usine en UK en serie... hormis cela je trouve que d'occasion à 1500€-1900€ ça le fait mieux
    C'est un ampli que je garderais en complément de ma config Vintage impossible de faire aussi complet, mieux et surtout de qualité... par contre 30 kg le bazard ce n'est pas fait pour Julien Doré du cul ou Christophe Willem la bite
    Lire moins
  • mesaboogien.

    Mesa Boogie Mark V ComboPublié le 06/02/13 à 01:06
    voir documentation.

    UTILISATION

    Plus simple qu'on ne l'imagine. Ce n'est pas plus compliqué que de régler le mark V que trois amplis séparés, ou trois fois le même ampli pour avoir trois sons différents. Il ne faut donc pas s'inquiéter de la masse de boutons. Il y a pour chaque canal un nombre assez ordinaire de réglages.


    SONORITÉS

    Je joue sur une vieille télécaster avec un son doux, pour une télécaster.
    Canal 1 : Le mode fat est mon préféré avec l'option bold. Il donne un velouté tout à fait jouissif pour le jazz en micro manche, le funk sur les deux micros. Le tweed est plus gras, sature légèrement, je préfère utiliser le second canal pour les sons crunch.

    canal 2 : Le canal du......
    Lire la suite
    voir documentation.

    UTILISATION

    Plus simple qu'on ne l'imagine. Ce n'est pas plus compliqué que de régler le mark V que trois amplis séparés, ou trois fois le même ampli pour avoir trois sons différents. Il ne faut donc pas s'inquiéter de la masse de boutons. Il y a pour chaque canal un nombre assez ordinaire de réglages.


    SONORITÉS

    Je joue sur une vieille télécaster avec un son doux, pour une télécaster.
    Canal 1 : Le mode fat est mon préféré avec l'option bold. Il donne un velouté tout à fait jouissif pour le jazz en micro manche, le funk sur les deux micros. Le tweed est plus gras, sature légèrement, je préfère utiliser le second canal pour les sons crunch.

    canal 2 : Le canal du blues ! Impressionnant. On gère le niveau de crunch avec les potentiomètres gain et master. C'est plus délicat à régler, ne suis pas encore tout à fait au point sur ce canal.mode mark 1 et option mark 1 normal.

    canal 3 : Mode mark IV, normal et gain assez élevé. Santana n'est pas loin. Enfin, s'il avait opté pour une télécaster.

    Mais surtout, l'égaliseur de sortie, quelle merveille !!! Je n'en reviens pas. Le bouton "solo" est formidable aussi. On a en fait une sorte de second potentiomètre de volume. On règle donc sur les deux boutons deux niveaux de son et on passe de l'un à l'autre du bout du pied.



    AVIS GLOBAL

    Pour jouer en appartement, c'est formidable avec le volume général. Comment les autres n'y ont-ils pas pensé ? C'est dingue ! On a un son formidable pour travailler sans même réveiller le chat ! C'est de toute beauté.

    Pour les petites salles, c'est idéal pour la même raison, on peut faire chauffer les lampes et on baisse le son. Ça paraît si simple.

    Pour les grandes salles, attention à ne pas couvrir la sono ;-) on a vite fait de se lâcher. Mais si le chef d'orchestre grimace, pas de souci, il suffit de baisser le son sans rien changer d'autre à ses réglages, tous canaux confondus. C'est incroyable comme ça redonne le sourire autour de vous !

    Je joue en big band avec batterie, basse, percu, deux claviers, sept ou huit cuivres (dont deux trompettes, deux flutes traversières. Du funk ? canal 1 et c'est limpide. Un solo ? Hop, le bouton magique. On passe sur un boogie, canal 2 et pour passer les cuivre : canal 3 avec un gain à faire fondre la banquise. Je passe partout sans rien toucher du concert avec neuf sons sous le pied. Le pédal-board est dans le placard, et je pars maintenant avec un seul jack, et sans la moindre pile dans mon sac.

    Le graal a un prix. En occase, c'est plus accessible, mais on a vite fait de dépenser en lampes l'économie réalisée, il y en a un paquet. On a quand même trois amplis pour le prix d'un, et on voit des pédales boutiques qui dépassent les 500 euros. Ça relativise le prix de la bête. Je jouais depuis 25 ans sur mon Boogie studio 22, monocanal de génie, des sons à couper le souffle pour une si petite boîte, mais le je n'avais pas assez de headroom avec les cuivres, et pas assez de précision entre les niveaux clean/saturé. Eh bien le mark V fait tout, en bien mieux. J'ai eu un music-man 112, et j'ai joué sur quelques autres (fender silverface, d'autres plus modernes comme le supersonic). Le mark V fait tout en mieux, et en tellement plus pratique...

    Avant de faire votre choix, n'oubliez pas qu'il pèse 30 kg (mais bien équilibré, contrairement à un twin), les roulettes ne sont pas de trop. N'achetez pas cet ampli si vous êtes en appartement sans ascenseur, ou il ne tardera pas à se retrouver dans la rubrique petites annonces, vendu cause problème de santé (aïe le dos !). En dehors de cette question de poids qu'il partage avec la plupart des amplis de qualité, il est incomparable. Je ne vois pas ce qui pourrait me faire changer, en dehors du même avec 20 kg de moins.
    Lire moins
  • "Strong Feature Set"

    Mesa Boogie Mark V ComboPublié le 30/08/12 à 01:06
    contenu en anglais (contenu en anglais)
    The Mark V is an incredibly versatile amplifier solution, offering three distinctly voiced channels covering a plethora of tones ranging from telecaster friendly cleans to highly saturated lead tones. It is possible to select the wattage rating for each channel from 10, 45, and 90 watts. The amp can be switched between pentode and triode operation on channel 3 to further fine tune the feel of the gain. You have some control over diode or tube rectification on channels 1 and 2 but it is only available in the 45 watt mode. The onboard reverb can be set for each channel separately as well. The Mark V runs on Mesa's own 6L6 tubes. I enjoyed the build of the foot switch and it's ability to both mute the amp and defeat the reverb.

    UTILIZATION

    I found the MkV to be challenging to dial in at times. While it is not difficult to find a pleasant sound using generic settings, the amp took a great deal of adjusting to get it just right. The included graphic EQ is essential for coaxing higher gain tones from the amp. The 1x12 is plenty loud but lacks the low end emphasis that you may desire. I favored running the combo through an external 4x12 cab.

    SOUNDS

    Played primarily through a Gibson Les Paul Studio Premium Plus. No pedals.

    I found the clean channel to be beautiful and 3 dimensional. The onboard reverb really brought out the charm of this channel and made it one of my personal favorites of the amp. The fat setting delivers a useable amount of low end while the tweed option introduces some gainy characteristics for Vox-like sounds.

    Channel 2 was the most difficult to dial in. I found the edge setting to be mostly useless, the crunch setting delievered a very warm iteration of the classic Marshall mid gain sounds. The Mk1 setting had a cool vibe to it but I felt too often that it's lowend was the least intelligible.

    Channel 3 was very simple to dial in. The Mkiic+ mode, while being more restrained than the Mkiv or Extreme settings, was the absolute star of the show. It is possible to get singing lead tones even with the gain set relatively low. The bright switch added a sweetness to the sound that had me leaving it engaged almost permanently. Introducing a smile curve on the graphic EQ allows for a lot more aggressiveness. The Mkiv mode allowed for more saturation without having to push the gain quite as high. The Extreme mode followed adding only a subtle amount of extra saturation and aggression to the mix-- but seemed the least articulate of the three.

    OVERALL OPINION

    The Mark is a beautiful amp, both visually and aurally. The control layout is clean and well thought out.
    It's feature set is very strong for the current market. It is a world class channel switcher and it's only competition are mostly amps that dwarf it's price point (such as the Bogner Ecstasy). Excellent value for money, excellent design methodologies, excellent amp. While I found very little use for some of the sounds offered, that by no means renders them unnecessary and I'm pleased to see the amount of options offered. If I purchased the amp again I would choose a head to pair with a 4x12. But if you are looking for a combo exclusively, you'll still be very pleased.
  • "The best of Mesa Boogie in one portable package."

    Mesa Boogie Mark V ComboPublié le 26/08/12 à 02:52
    contenu en anglais (contenu en anglais)
    The Mesa Boogie Mark V combo is a 6L6-based all-tube three channel combo that not only encapsulates the best of the Mesa Boogie heritage, but also is so tweakable that you can coax just about any tone from it. Whether you play all original music or nothing but covers, this amp is incredibly flexible. Each channel is independently configurable to run at the full 90 watts, 45 watts, or 10 watts. The only thing really missing from this amp that would make it PERFECT instead of just high-scoring is the absence of MIDI.

    UTILIZATION

    It is incredibly easy to get a good sound out of this amp but the issue is that there are so many great sounds; which one do you choose?

    There is a somewhat daunting number of controls on this amp, all intended to provide the ultimate in tonal flexibility. However, just imagine that there are so many controls on the front panel that they have to put the reverb and triode/pentode switches on the back. Each channel has three modes to choose from and are foot-switchable, as is the effects loop, reverb, EQ, amp mute, and solo boost. This makes for a larger than normal 8-button foot switch, but it is easily stored in the back of the combo (once you learn the trick). You can only pick from one of the modes for each channel, selectable by a mini-toggle switch on the front of the amp. Also present is the familiar Mark Series 5-band graphic EQ on the front.

    All of the above shouldn't keep you from trying this amp though. The controls are easy enough to quickly master and from that point, the tone flows...

    SOUNDS

    I originally took two guitars to the Mesa Hollywood store to check out the Mesa Road King combo. Ended up checking out the Roadster instead of the Road King, then, just as I was about to leave, they suggested I check out the Mark V just for grins. This amp is UNBELIEVABLE. I played it through my Ibanez RG760 with Dimarzio Super 3 bridge and Fast Track 2 Neck, and my mahogany Ibanez Artist with Dimarzio PAF 36th Anniversary bridge and Air Norton neck, in both humbucker and single-coil mode with my installed push-pull coil splitting volume potentiometer. I couldn't make this thing sound bad. Every sound you've ever heard is in there. There are three channels with three selectable modes each. The cleans on channel 1 go from clean, shimmering, and sparkling, to fat and jazzy, to just broken up "cheap dirt." Channel two takes you into the 70's and 80's with everything from Santana to Satriani. Channel 3 is your heavy gain channel and just piles it on with everything from Dream Theater to unbelievable amounts of gain on the "Extreme" setting. You can choose between using the 5-band EQ or a Mid-Contour EQ... or no EQ... this is possibly the most flexible combo I've ever used. Each channel has three selectable power modes: 10w, 45w, or 90w, meaning you can have your clean channel on 90w for maximum headroom, have your crunch channel at 10w for a great touch-responsive crunch, and have channel 3 on 45w for the best of both worlds. Included foot switch means all you'd really need is any effects to go in the effects loop (also foot-switchable). You can also select between a full-power and Variac mode that gives that nice power sag. Bottom line, the Road King, while allowing for the mix of different power tubes, isn't really worth the extra $1000, and the Roadster (for the same price as the Mark 5) just seemed to lack character.

    OVERALL OPINION

    With the ability to run this into a 4x12, it's possible you may never need anything else. Best amp I've ever played in this price range. The only other combo I've play that comes as close tonally and/or flexibly is the Hughes & Kettner Switchblade. There is a trade-off; while the Switchblade has MIDI capabilities, it doesn't have the selectable power modes. While the Switchblade has on-board effects, it doesn't have the vast tone-shaping abilities of the Mark V. Having owned both, I actually stuck with the Hughes & Kettner because of the MIDI capabilities and on-board effects. I think that while the Mark V combo is an amazing amp, the options the amp offers don't quite justify the price tag. However, if you're a fan of Mesa Boogie, this may be all the amp you ever need.
  • "Amazingly versatile, 9 amps in 1 box!!!"

    Mesa Boogie Mark V ComboPublié le 07/05/12 à 20:05
    contenu en anglais (contenu en anglais)
    Mesa Boogie Mark V. All tube preamp and 4 power tubes, simulclass so it can be 4x6L6 or 2x6L6 and 2xEL34. 3 channels, 3 modes to each channel, switchable 90/45/10 watts, full power and variac power switch, individual channel EQ as well as programmable graphic EQ for each channel. Individual channel reverb, tube or transistor rectifier, pentode or triode switching for the lead channel, all controllable via midi foot switch (included). This amp can replace an entire rack of amps and EQ's. It's just amazing all the things they put into this and still made it cheaper than other boutique style amps. Made here in the USA in California.

    UTILIZATION

    Mesa Boogies have been known for being notorious at setting up. Takes quite a while to get a good tone but once you do it's amazing. This breaks that chain, it's very easy to setup and get a great tone. Each channel has tons of options but very easy to understand. Simple controls: Gain, treble, bass, mid, presence, volume. Then there's the modes. Channel 1 has: clean, fat, tweed. Channel 2 has: crunch, edge, Mark I. Channel 3 has: IIC+, IV, extreme. The manual, like all Mesa manuals, are very descriptive and explain everything in great detail. Makes the amp very easy to understand.


    SOUNDS

    Clean is a normal mesa style clean which is similar to a Fender, very bright, sparkly, and shimmering. Fat is similar but thicker so works well with single coil pickups. Tweed shifts the treble and mid controls to a lower frequency so along with it being slightly hotter it just has a overall different sound.

    Crunch is the first of the mid gain modes. Slight overdrive to it, similar to a overdriven marshall but not as much. Edge is the same but with more gain on tap. Mark I is a recreation at the legendary Mesa Mark I used by artists such as Santana. Very thick, creamy, and smooth with huge low end. Great for bluesy leads, this mode has much more gain than the other 2 modes.

    IIC+ is a recreation of the also legendary Mesa Mark IIC+. Used widely in metal music by artists such as MetallicA and John Petrucci of Dream Theatre. Much higher gain, very tight, and more aggressive than the other channels. It's not dead on to a real IIC+ but it's got a very similar voicing. IV is again a recreation of the Mesa Mark IV. Also widely used by artists such as MetallicA (debatable), John Petrucci of Dream Theatre, and Lamb Of God. This has much more gain that the IIC+, is tighter, but isn't as smooth sounding. Extreme is also based off the Mark IV but on the original Mark IV the presence knob was push/ pull. Pulled out was normal mode, pushed in increased gain and made the amp brighter with a sharper attack, so basically a more extreme sound.

    OVERALL OPINION

    There's not really anything I can say I dislike about the amp. It has less gain and is less aggressive than my Mark III but that's expected, it's not recreating the aggressive Mark III, rather the smoother IIC+ and IV. So that's not a downside to me. This may not recreate each amp perfectly but it does a great job and has a sound all it's own. I'd strongly recommend it to anyone for any style.
  • "A perfect tube amplifier."

    Mesa Boogie Mark V ComboPublié le 28/11/11 à 21:06
    contenu en anglais (contenu en anglais)
    1 x 12" Combo with C90 Speaker
    10/45/90 Watts
    4x6L6 (or 4xEL34), 7x12AX7, 1x5U4
    Bias Select Switch (6L6/EL34)
    Fixed Bias for Consistent, Maintenance Free Performance
    Full Power/Variac Power Switch
    3 Fully Independent Channels with 9 Modes
    Footswitchable, Channel Assignable or True Bypassable All-Tube FX Loop with Send Level Control (over all channels when activated)
    Output Level Control (over all channels when activated)
    Footswitchable Solo Level Control
    True "Hard" Bypass Switch removes FX Loops, Output Level & Solo Level Controls from signal path
    Tuner Output w/Footswitchable Mute
    Slave Out w/Level Control
    Fan Cooled with On/Off Switch
    External Switching Jacks for Channels 2, 3 (channel 1 is default), EQ & Solo
    Aluminum Chassis
    4x4 — 8 Button Footswitch
    Casters
    Slip Cover
    22.5" W x 19" H x 10.5" D
    Simul-Class Power Amp with Multi-Watt and Duo-Class technologies for 3 power and three operating class options
    Wattages are channel assignable via 10/45/90 Watt Power Switches
    Choose 2 power tubes operating in pure vintage Class A (single-ended), producing 10 Watts
    2 tubes running in time-honored Class A/B producing 45 Watts
    4 tubes running in Mesa's patented Simul-Class Power that blends the best of Class A and Class A/B simultaneously to produce 90 Watts

    UTILIZATION

    I don't give a lot of these 10 ratings out, but this is a perfect amplifier. The Mark V can produce nearly any natural guitar tone one can think of at three convenient wattages. 3 separate channels can each be configured for seemingly infinite options, changing gain structure, EQ curves, and the overall feel. This amp can achieve convincing results of nearly any of Mesa's past beauties, yet without any modeling - it's all tubes, transistors, resistors, transformers, diodes...no chips.

    SOUNDS

    The reverb may possibly be the best reverb I've heard in an amplifier - it's a nice spring verb that can be set for different levels on each channel, so switching from clean to dirty to liquid soloing doesn't have to include an extra step of fumbling with turning on or off the reverb as well.

    Cleans are sparkly, glassy, and can get gritty if desired. Distortions range from 50s power amp distortion sounds to modern death metal, and absolutely everything in between. The EQ is incredibly powerful, letting one carve to surgical precision the desired tonal timbre.

    OVERALL OPINION

    This may be the greatest tube amp I've yet played. The options are vast, yet it is easy to get a great sound of. The vacuum tube was obsoleted in the 1960s and 70s for most electronic products, but this amplifier may be the crowning achievement of any tube circuit. Mesa thought of everything on this amp - they included a fan to cool the circuit to prevent overheating, yet it has an on/off switch in case silent operation is necessary, such as for studio applications. This amp is a perfect 10.
  • "Surf's Up!!!"

    Mesa Boogie Mark V ComboPublié le 23/06/11 à 08:16
    contenu en anglais (contenu en anglais)
    This is a solid amp and the color to match is another win for this amp. I love the surf green color of this thing. The tolex has been upgraded to a surf green color and the front grille baffle has a gold tweed design that matches up real well. You get the same great tone and features of the black standard, but just in a higher priced but unique looking amp.

    This amp is a beast. I would say that the Road King is the most versatile amp in the Mesa Boogie line up this amp is right up there with that one. This amp has more features and control knobs on it that make a airplane control room look small. It looks like the amp could take flight if give wings. Well, I have had this amp around many situations and I have to say it has some soaring features and tones that make it a lot of fun playing with.

    It is basically three channels from the earl Mark up to the modern Mark series amps. The best part of this amp in my opinion which is on all Mesa's which makes me love Mesa is the self biasing features it has. Not having to pay some amp tech to pull your amp out of the chassis and spending the money is a plus.



    UTILIZATION

    Specifications:

    * Bias Select Switch (6L6/EL34)
    * Fixed Bias for Consistent, Maintenance Free Performance
    * Full Power/Variac Power Switch (Patent 5,091,700)
    * 3 Fully Independent Channels with 9 Modes (Channel 1 = Clean, Fat or Tweed, Channel 2 = Edge, Crunch or Mark I, Channel 3 = Mark IIC+, Mark IV or Extreme)
    * Normal/Bold Switch on Channel 1, Normal/Thick Switch on Channel 2 (Mark I mode only), Normal/Bright Switch & Pentode/Triode Switch on Channel 3
    * Each Channel features: Independent Gain, Treble, Mid, Bass, Presence, Master, Footswitchable or Auto-Assignable Contour Depth Control, Footswitchable All-Tube, Long Spring Reverb Control, Rectifier Tracking (Auto-selects Tube for all 10 Watt Modes, Diode for all 90 Watt Modes, selectable Tube or Diode for 45 Watt Modes on Channels 1 and 2, Diode for 45 Watt Mode on Channel 3 - Patents 5,168,438 & 7,193,458)
    * 5 Band Graphic EQ is Footswitchable, Channel Assignable and Selectable between 1 group of 5-Band Sliders or 3 channel specific, variable depth Contour Controls
    * Footswitchable, Channel Assignable or True Bypassable All-Tube FX Loop with Send Level Control (over all channels when activated)
    * Output Level Control (over all channels when activated)
    * Footswitchable Solo Level Control – Patent 6,724,897 (over all channels when activated)
    * True “Hard” Bypass Switch removes FX Loops, Output Level & Solo Level Controls from signal path
    * Tuner Output w/Footswitchable Mute
    * Slave Out w/Level Control
    * Fan Cooled with On/Off Switch
    * External Switching Jacks for Channels 2, 3 (channel 1 is default), EQ & Solo
    * Aluminum Chassis • New 4x4 - 8 Button Footswitch (Bottom Row: Channel 1, Channel 2, Channel 3, Solo – Top Row: Reverb, FX Loop, EQ & Tuner Mute)

    SOUNDS


    The Mark V is such an amazing amplifier that makes Mesa Boogie look good. This is an amp that has some crushing tone and operation. This amp sounds fantastic with just about any guitar.

    It sounds great with a Gibson Les Paul or any other humbucker pickup style guitar. Even a nice Fender Telecaster it will sparkle and chime on the lower settings for the clean stuff. But, the Mesa Boogie sounds the best in my opinion on the modern settings of channel 3 and the extreme mode. This thing is a beast and will crush just about any other amp that tries to square off against it.

    OVERALL OPINION

    At new this amp comes in at around $2430. That is a couple hundred dollars more than the standard black combo. It think it is worth it in this color since this looks very stellar. You can get this amp online or even ask Mesa Boogie to make you one off. They have a custom shop where you can actually design your own color or tolex and grille combination.

    This is a workhorse amp. It will be ready to rock with you night in and night out. Mesa is good at customer service as well. You can call there anytime during the work hours and speak to someone who is helpful. They are big company with small company standards and people skills. I highly recommend them to anyone.
  • "Cream of the crop"

    Mesa Boogie Mark V ComboPublié le 01/07/11 à 23:31
    contenu en anglais (contenu en anglais)
    The only difference in this amp and the black standard one is that the tolex covering is a sweet looking cream color. All the features and tones are the same and the great feel and punch that makes these amps road worthy are still there. You get a great sounding amplifier that is a custom look to meet the custom personality of the player.

    This is one beast of an amp! This one probably is the flag ship amp that Mesa Boogie carries. This amp is the most versatile amp that they make. It is like the Roadster as far as sound and front panel features. The thing that separates this from the Roadster is the back panel features. You can set up so many variations of tubes combination and biasing that makes it a recording dream amp. For someone who is recording this amp is a pleasure to have in the session. Since sound engineers have so many tracks and options of layering guitar tracks and mixing. Having an amp that will be able to mix and match EL34 and 6L6's in just about any configuration is remarkable. The over all tone and sound you get from this is parallel to the Roadster, except you have even more of a variety of tube options at your disposal.

    UTILIZATION


    Handbuilt in Petaluma, California

    Multi-Watt™ Channel Assignable Power Amp with Progressive Linkage™ (patent 5,559,469) featuring 4x6L6 & 2xEL34, which allows you to select either 2x6L6, 2xEL34, 2x6L6+2xEL34, 4x6L6
    or 4x6L6+2xEL34 for Power Ratings of 50, 100 & 120 Watts! / 6x12AX7, 2x5U4

    Fixed Bias for Consistent, Maintenance Free Performance

    4 Fully Independent Channels with 12 Modes (Channel 1 =Clean, Fat or Tweed™, Channel 2 =Clean, Fat or Brit, Channels 3 & 4=Raw, Vintage High Gain or Modern High Gain)

    Each Channel features Independent Gain, Treble, Mid, Bass, Presence, All-Tube Long Spring Reverb, 5 Position Progressive Linkage Power Tube Select (choices listed above), Channel Assignable Dual Rectification with Recto Tracking™ (Diode or Tube Tracking – Patents 5,168,438 & 7,193,458), Speaker Output Select (Speaker Out A, B or A+B), FX Loop 1 and 2 Select (2-Series Loop On/Off Switches per Channel or Footswitch Assignable)

    Output Level Control (over all channels when activated)

    SOUNDS

    I liked keeping it on the diode tracking. It sounded just as awesome with the tube tracking but I felt it needed that extra umph or sizzle in the amp. The thing live on channel four on the modern mode.

    Run a Les Paul or a humbucker style guitar in front of this amp and you can hear and feel the power it delivers. It has a unique sizzle only found in rectos. The sponge and tight feature is cool when you need to use it in drop tunings then switch it over to the tight side. If you are playing hard rock and need only a half tuning or regular then keep in on sponge. On the sponge setting you will find the amp a bit more forgiving.

    OVERALL OPINION

    I would recommend this amp to anyone who needs a lot of options from his guitar amp. This amp is so versatile that if I owned a recording studio this is one amp that I would own as a "must have" to complete my studio.

    At new they come in at around $2700. That seems to be a fare price for this well built machine. It is going to be high for high school kids but this amp wasn't built for that market. This is a professional guitarist's amplifier.
  • "The Boogie Mark V = AWESOME"

    Mesa Boogie Mark V ComboPublié le 10/08/11 à 17:08
    contenu en anglais (contenu en anglais)
    The Mesa Boogie Mark V was designed by Randall Smith and the team at Boogie to take many of the classic sounds of Mesa Boogie lore (Mark I, Mark IIC+, Mark IV) and mix them with some other great tones (Lone Star esque cleans, slightly broken up British voiced crunch tones and some searing modern high gain sounds too.) Top that off with a myriad of features to alter the sound such as wattage selection, variac power mode, switching between tube rectifiers and silicon diodes, reverb controls per channel... the list goes on and on. The full list from Mesa is as follows:

    Simul-Class Power Amp (Patents 4,532,476 & 4,593,251) featuring Multi-Watt (Patent 7,602,927) and Duo-Class (Patent 7,173,488) technologies which provide three power and three operating class options that are channel assignable via 10/45/90 Watt Power Switches: Choose 2 power tubes operating in pure vintage Class A (single-ended), producing 10 Watts - 2 tubes running in time-honored Class A/B producing 45 Watts or 4 tubes running in Mesas legendary, patented Simul-Class Power that blends the best of Class A and Class A/B simultaneously to produce 90 Watts of pure tonal magic / 4x6L6 (or 4xEL-34), 7x12AX7, 1x5U4

    Bias Select Switch (6L6/EL34)
    Fixed Bias for Consistent, Maintenance Free Performance
    Full Power/Variac Power Switch (Patent 5,091,700)
    3 Fully Independent Channels with 9 Modes (Channel 1 = Clean, Fat or Tweed, Channel 2 = Edge, Crunch or Mark I, Channel 3 = Mark IIC+, Mark IV or Extreme)
    Normal/Bold Switch on Channel 1, Normal/Thick Switch on Channel 2 (Mark I mode only), Normal/Bright Switch & Pentode/Triode Switch on Channel 3
    Each Channel features: Independent Gain, Treble, Mid, Bass, Presence, Master, Footswitchable or Auto-Assignable Contour Depth Control, Footswitchable All-Tube, Long Spring Reverb Control, Rectifier Tracking (Auto-selects Tube for all 10 Watt Modes, Diode for all 90 Watt Modes, selectable Tube or Diode for 45 Watt Modes on Channels 1 and 2, Diode for 45 Watt Mode on Channel 3 - Patents 5,168,438 & 7,193,458)
    5 Band Graphic EQ is Footswitchable, Channel Assignable and Selectable between 1 group of 5-Band Sliders or 3 channel specific, variable depth Contour Controls
    Footswitchable, Channel Assignable or True Bypassable Fully Buffered FX Loop with Send Level Control (over all channels when activated)
    Output Level Control (over all channels when activated)
    Footswitchable Solo Level Control Patent 6,724,897 (over all channels when activated)
    True Hard Bypass Switch removes FX Loops, Output Level & Solo Level Controls from signal path
    Tuner Output w/Footswitchable Mute
    Slave Out w/Level Control
    Fan Cooled with On/Off Switch
    External Switching Jacks for Channels 2, 3 (channel 1 is default), EQ & Solo
    Aluminum Chassis New 4x4 - 8 Button Footswitch (Bottom Row: Channel 1, Channel 2, Channel 3, Solo Top Row: Reverb, FX Loop, EQ & Tuner Mute)

    It's a very versatile amp that promises to deliver a lot in the tonal department while retaining the feel that a Mesa amp should. This amp features a combo chassis with a Mesa Boogie Black Shadow C90 90w speaker as stock. It's definitely a well voiced speaker that works excellently with all the different tones and flavours that this amp offers. In many cases I have actually preferred the tone of the combo to a head into 4x12 (which is extremely rare for me).






    UTILIZATION

    This amp, upon first inspection, looks to be almost impossible to dial in. There are three channels, each with a wattage selector (90w/45w/10w), a switch to turn the graphic EQ on or off (or assign it to be footswitchable), as well as a three way switch to select the channel mode (IE: Ch1 has Normal, Fat Clean, and Tweed modes). There is also one further switch on each channel to adjust something about the modes (IE: Ch1 has a "bold" switch).

    Each channel has 6 controls, gain, volume, presence, bass, middle, treble. Unlike many previous Mesa Mark series amps, there is no pull knobs for the channel. There is also reverb on the back with a control for each channel. Lastly there is a 5 band graphic EQ built in to further sculpt your sound to bring it to levels of sonic satori.

    It's very simple to dial it in once you know what you are doing. Channel 1 is your clean channel and works as such. It goes all the way from a crystal clear clean tone to a very gained out classic sound that is reminiscent of the old tweed Fender amps.

    The second channel has a decidedly vintage rock flavour to it. It goes from classic edge-of-breakup type sounds (think an older NMV Marshall, but a bit more modern) to classic JMP/800 esque crunch tones to the smooth and dark tones of the Mesa Boogie Mark I. Beware, this mode is very dark in nature so it can be a bit of an annoyance dialing that mode in to work with the other channels at times.

    The third channel goes from the classic L.A rock/metal tones of the Mesa Mark IIC+, to the smoother and more rounded sounding tones of the Mark IV to a searing modern tone that can only be classified as extreme.

    If you combine all these core tones with the various features that Mesa offers on this amplifier to adjust the tones and feel of the amp, you have what is easily one of the most versatile and best sounding production amplifier on the planet right now.


    SOUNDS

    I presently use this amplifier with a Gibson Les Paul Traditional Plus loaded with 57 Classic humbuckers. I can't really cover all of the tones that I get out of this amp, simply because there are so many. I can safely say that this amp would cover everything from jazz/blues to country to all levels of rock and metal tones.

    My favourite tones out of this amp are the Fat Clean mode (with bold switch engaged), the Tweed Clean mode (with the gain turned up to really juice the preamp), the Crunch tone on Channel 2 with the gain turned up for a classic seventies/early eighties arena rock tone, the Mark I mode with the GEQ OFF for a darker, slightly chunker vintage rock tone, and the Mark IIC+ and Mark IV modes on Channel 3 for raunchy eighties rock and smooth lead tones respectively.

    I generally like running the amp in variac power mode for a slightly spongier feel, similar to a pushed older Marshall but with tonnes of gain and the slightly bolder tone of 6L6 tubes. You can load the amp with EL34s though if you want to get one step closer to that British flavour.

    OVERALL OPINION

    All in all I feel this is probably one of Mesa's finest amps. It has a whole plethora of great tones for a while variety of musical styles, a seemingly endless parade of features to adjust the tones to your liking, and that classic Mesa Mark series feel and tone that I just enjoy so much (and keep coming back to). My first really good amplifier was a Mesa Boogie Mark III head, so I enjoy being able to relive some of the tones I got out of that.

    For the $2,300 or so new price that these are new, they are a FANTASTIC bargain. Absolutely worth it. Some people complain about this amp not sounding exactly like the classics... but the way I see it, it's a great sounding amp on its own regardless of what amps it's supposed to sound like. All in all this is probably the best amp I've owned to date! I give this my rare 10/10 rating!
cookies

Nous utilisons les cookies !

Oui, Audiofanzine utilise des cookies. Et comme la dernière chose que nous voudrions serait de perturber votre alimentation avec des choses trop grasses ou trop sucrées, sachez que ces derniers sont fait maison avec des produits frais, bio, équitables et dans des justes proportions nutritives. Ce que cela veut dire, c’est que les infos que nous y stockons ne visent qu’à simplifier votre usage du site comme à améliorer votre expérience sur nos pages (en savoir plus). Pour personnaliser vos cookies, merci de cliquer ici.

Nous tenons à préciser qu’Audiofanzine n’a pas attendu qu’une loi nous y oblige pour respecter la vie privée de nos membres et visiteurs. Les cookies que nous utilisons ont en commun leur unique objectif qui est d’améliorer votre expérience utilisateur.

Tous nos cookies

Cookies non soumis à consentement

Il s'agit de cookies qui garantissent le bon fonctionnement du site Audiofanzine et permettent son optimisation. Le site Web ne peut pas fonctionner correctement sans ces cookies.

Préférences du site

Nous retenons vos préférences afin que vous n’ayez pas à effectuer les mêmes actions chaque fois que vous revenez (options forums, mode sombre ou clair, filtres petites annonces, choix onglets news ou buzz, popups newsletters...).

Connexion

C'est grâce à cela que vous n’avez pas à vous reconnecter à chaque fois que vous venez sur Audiofanzine.

Analytics

Ces données nous permettent de comprendre l’utilisation que nos visiteurs font de notre site pour tenter de l’améliorer.

Publicités

Ces informations nous permettent de vous afficher des publicités qui vous concernent grâce auxquelles Audiofanzine est financé. En décochant cette case vous aurez toujours des publicités mais elles risquent d’être moins intéressantes :)

Nous tenons à préciser qu’Audiofanzine n’a pas attendu qu’une loi nous y oblige pour respecter la vie privée de nos membres et visiteurs. Les cookies que nous utilisons ont en commun leur unique objectif qui est d’améliorer votre expérience utilisateur.

Tous nos cookies

Cookies non soumis à consentement

Il s'agit de cookies qui garantissent le bon fonctionnement du site Audiofanzine et permettent son optimisation. Le site Web ne peut pas fonctionner correctement sans ces cookies.

Préférences du site

Nous retenons vos préférences afin que vous n’ayez pas à effectuer les mêmes actions chaque fois que vous revenez (options forums, mode sombre ou clair, filtres petites annonces, choix onglets news ou buzz, popups newsletters...).

Connexion

C'est grâce à cela que vous n’avez pas à vous reconnecter à chaque fois que vous venez sur Audiofanzine.

Analytics

Ces données nous permettent de comprendre l’utilisation que nos visiteurs font de notre site pour tenter de l’améliorer.

Publicités

Ces informations nous permettent de vous afficher des publicités qui vous concernent grâce auxquelles Audiofanzine est financé. En décochant cette case vous aurez toujours des publicités mais elles risquent d’être moins intéressantes :)


Vous pouvez trouver plus de détails sur la proctection des données dans la politique de confidentialité.